Marcel Schirbach

European and Swiss Patent Attorney

Dipl. El.-Ing. Marcel Schirbach

Represents clients before national and international patent offices, mainly in patent, trademark and design law. Practices before the opposition and appeal boards of the European Patent Office and advises before the Federal Patent Court. Special expertise in patent prosecution, patent infringement/nullity proceedings and opposition/appeal proceedings before the European Patent Office and the Swiss Patent Office, with a focus on (i) electrical engineering and telecommunications, (ii) power engineering, drive and output side, electrical machines, thermal machines, power distribution, railway drives, (iii) mechanical engineering equipment, (iv) metrology, control engineering, (v) medical technology, (vi) software protection, business models and business services.

Education: Studies of electrical engineering at the RWTH & FH Aachen, studies of European Patent Law (CEIPI - Centre d'Études Internationales de la Propriété Intellectuelle) at the University of Strasbourg.

Experience: Senior Patent Attorney; many years’ experience in industrial patent departments in Baden and Zug and in patent law firms in Zurich and Bern with specialization in electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, physics, IT, business process patenting and software patenting. Implementation and management of international and national infringement and nullity proceedings. IP Due Diligence in M&A proceedings. Lecturer for postgraduate studies in intellectual property law at ZHAW (patent opposition proceedings, trademark searches, 2012–2014). Previously several years of international experience as commissioning engineer for large-scale power plants.

Memberships: Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (epi), Association Internationale pour la Protection de la Propriété Intellectuelle (AIPPI), Association des conseils en brevets suisses et européens de profession libérale (VESPA), Association of Swiss Patent and Trademark Attorneys (VSP), Institute for the Protection of Intellectual Property (INGRES), Licensing Executives Society (LES), Efficiency Club Zurich

Dipl. El.-Ing. Marcel Schirbach

Marcel Schirbach

Europäischer und Schweizer Patentanwalt

Dipl. El.-Ing. Marcel Schirbach

Repräsentiert Klienten vor den nationalen und internationalen Patentämtern, hauptsächlich im Patent-, Marken-, Designrecht. Praktiziert vor den Einspruchs- und Beschwerdekammern des Europäischen Patentamtes und ist beratend vor dem Bundespatentgericht tätig. Spezielle Fachkenntnisse in Patenterteilungsverfahren, in Patentverletzungs- bzw. Patentnichtigkeitsverfahren und in Einspruchs-/Beschwerdeverfahren vor dem Europäischen Patentamt und dem Schweizerischen Patentamt, mit den Schwerpunkten in (i) Elektrotechnik und Telekommunikation, (ii) Energietechnik, antriebsseitig und abtriebsseitig, elektrische Maschinen, thermische Maschinen, Energieverteilung, Bahnantriebe, (iii) Anlagen des Maschinenbaus, (iv) Messtechnik, Regelungstechnik, (v) Medizintechnik, (vi) Schutz von Software, Business Models und Business Services.

Ausbildung: Studium der Elektrotechnik an der RWTH & FH Aachen, Studium Europäisches Patentrecht (CEIPI - Centre d’Études Internationales de la Propriété Intellectuelle) an der Universität Strasbourg.

Bisherige Tätigkeit: Senior Patentanwalt; langjährige Tätigkeit in Industriepatentabteilungen in Baden bzw. Zug und langjährige Tätigkeit in Patentanwaltskanzleien in Zürich und Bern mit Spezialisierung in den Bereichen Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau, Physik, IT, Geschäftsverfahrenspatentierung und Softwarepatentierung. Implementierung und Leitung von internationalen und nationalen Verletzungs- und Nichtigkeitsprozessen. Durchführen von IP Due Diligence in M&A Verfahren. Dozent für Nachdiplomstudium Immaterialgüterrecht an der ZHAW (Patenteinspruchsverfahren, Markenrecherchen, 2012–2014). Vorgängig mehrjährige, internationale Tätigkeit als Inbetriebnahme-Ingenieur für Grosskraftwerke.

Mitgliedschaften: Institut der beim Europäischen Patentamt zugelassenen Vertreter (epi), Internationale Vereinigung für den Schutz des Geistigen Eigentums (AIPPI), Verband der freiberuflichen Europäischen und Schweizer Patentanwälte (VESPA), Verband Schweizerischer Patent- und Markenanwälte (VSP), Institut für den gewerblichen Rechtsschutz (INGRES), Licensing Executives Society (LES), Efficiency Club Zürich

Dipl. El.-Ing. Marcel Schirbach